My 2nd week of marathon training started with a holiday – July 4th. This whole holiday thing seems to be bad for my training! Tom woke up, dressed, and rushed off to the track – leaving me with 3 kids to dress and feed. By the time he got back it was time to head over to the neighborhood 4th party followed by a party at the town pool. I was still – wishfully – hoping to make it to running clinic on Monday night. Seeing 3 exhausted kids + one exhausted husband + dinner at my mother-in-law’s house, I soon realized my plans were going to fail.
Today (Tuesday) was an operating day for me and the 1st day of camp for the older 2 kids. I was up late getting things ready and then the alarm went off at 5:30am. I was out the door at 6:30am (ok, I was supposed to be out the door by 6:30 but the kids were having a monster fight over who was going to pour Zachary some apple juice and I actually left closer to 6:45- thank goodness that summer commuter traffic is much lighter!). This is why early morning runs are not for me! I was fortunate enough to have an efficient day and was happily home by 5-ish. This was doubly lucky as I had brought the kids’ pool passes to work with me (again) and needed to rush home so my nanny could take them for an evening swim!
Today was hot and humid. At 5:30pm it was still hot and humid. I decided a nice run on the treadmill would be far more tolerable than a hot run outside. Especially because I didn’t do a great job of hydrating today. The treadmills have that clever drink holder!
I’m trying to increase my speed on the short runs, especially since I realize I can run faster. I stuck with run 1 min/walk 1 min but gradually increased the running speed up to 6.0.
My stats for today were 2.62 miles in 35 min including warm up and cool down. I felt pretty good (although eating tuna nicoise salad for lunch at 2:30pm may have been a mistake).

I’m happy to report that I’m 4 for 4 with training run! Let’s see how this works when I need to run 15 miles…
I was also reviewing my training so far this year. I started tracking my runs in February so I don’t have the data that includes my 1st half marathon. I’ve run about 160 miles this year. I realized that my monthly mileage is lower than some people’s weekly mileage! More motivation to actually run my runs!
Thursday is going to be tricky (another reason for Monday training runs- more flexibility in scheduling the rest of the week!). I have dinner plans after work so I may have to wake up early to run. Not my 1st choice but I think I can do it!

