Here I sit the night before the Big Race and think about everything. This blog, somewhat like my training, remains a bit unfinished. I guess that’s fitting. I’m writing while I wait for my iPhone to charge – the battery is almost dead because my children were playing with it all evening – again, how fitting.
How did I get to the Eve of my 1st marathon? I remember saying once that running a marathon wasn’t important to me. And here I am. I feel like this is where I should be. On and off over the last 15 years or so I’ve flirted with the idea of running. 2 years ago I started the Couch to 5k and then signed up for a half marathon. A year ago I insisted my 1st race. And started to become hooked.
My training has been far from ideal. Good enough to finish, for sure. But I know if I had the time to make sure I did my 3 runs per week – and maybe that elusive cross-training day – I could go faster. Does speed matter??? Should speed matter??? I don’t know. Part of me wants to run a 2 hour half. Or a 4:30 marathon. Or better. But maybe seeking time goals takes the fun out of it? Maybe my life is stressful enough that turning recreation into competition is exactly what I don’t need?
My outfit for tomorrow is ready. A combo of whimsy with function (it IS a Disney event, after all). My fuel is packed and ready. The camera and phone are charging. The pre-race dinner is done. Now all I can do is try to sleep a few hours before greeting the pre-dawn. And, although I’ve finished 3 half marathons, I still don’t know what to expect.
Tomorrow, unless something goes horribly wrong, I’ll become a marathoner. See you on the other side!

