I read a great quote today,

“Winning is not about headlines and hardware [medals]. It’s only about attitude. A winner is a person who goes out today and every day and attempts to be the best runner and best person s/he can be. Winning is about struggle and effort and optimism, and never, ever, ever giving up.”
– Amby Burfoot, Editor-at-Large, Runner’s World

Now I have no idea who Amby Burfoot is but this concept really resonated with me. Last week was not my best week of running ever. Monday night I struggled through 1.5 very slow miles. I woke up at 6am on Thursday to get in 3.1 miles before heading off to work. And on Saturday I spent as much time complaining about having to run as I spent running 4 miles. I just didn’t feel like running.

The point to my not-so-great week of running is that actually did 3 runs. There were many obstacles – sore legs from the previous long run, work commitments, lack of motivation – and yet I actually managed to finish 3 runs. Was my weekly mileage impressive? Did I rock out my runs? Not really. The 3.1 and 4 mile runs were at a reasonable pace. But in many ways this was one of my more impressive weeks.

Why do I say that?

I could have taken Monday off. I wasn’t fully recovered from the 12 miles the weekend before. My legs were sore. I had a difficult day. I was tired. But I did something instead of nothing. Thursday morning I didn’t need to get up early for work. I could have slept late. But I set my alarm, got up, and went. And Saturday I had a million excuses. And I knew I’d have to do my run on the treadmill while watching Disney Junior shows. Not exactly inspiring. Again. I made it happen.

So maybe last week I really was a winner after all…

