My next race is a 10k on June 9th. Oddly enough, this will be the shortest race I’ve run to date. Because crazy people start with a half marathon and work backwards, right? I’m not really sure what to expect or how to pace myself. And as someone who has finished the longer races due to sheer stubbornness, I’m a little worried that my lack of speed will be more obvious during a shorter race. In a larger sense I don’t really have a time goal for this race. I think I’ll finish without a problem and I don’t have a previous 5k or 10k to compare. I should be able to do 12 min/mile or better. And I have all summer before I have another race.
I have been looking at the calendar with a more global eye. I have several big races starting in the fall and I think now is the time to start preparing a base. After my June 10k I have a 10 miler in WDW the last weekend of September. I think this will be more of a fun run for me. 1st because I’m really a morning person and I doubt I’ll be at my best at 10pm. 2nd because I’m running the Westchester Medical Center Half Marathon the following weekend. And 3rd because I need to stay healthy if I think I can finish the Goofy in January.
With that in mind I have posted a schedule of every weekend “long run” between now and the Goofy. I took the various Jeff Galloway training plans for the various races and created a Master Plan. I moved super long runs so they don’t occur the weekend before a race. I picked the longer of 2 (or 3) distances when train plans disagreed. And I’m trying to make a commitment to include in my training those elements recommended to improve my speed and form: hill repeats, cadence drills, speed work, magic miles. All things I’ve avoided to date.
On top of that I’ve developed a voracious appetite for reading about running. I’ve finished 2 John Bingham books: Running for Mortals and Marathoning for Mortals. I read Train Like a Mother (still need to read their 1st book). And I just downloaded Jeff Galloway’s book on motivation, I’ve perused Hal Higdon’s training plans. Reviewed the Athleta “Power to the She” plans. And studied the plans in Train Like a Mother and John Bingham’s books. And I started my food diary as recommended in the book Racing Weight.
Insanity, right?
Here the bottom line. Committing myself to a 4 or 5 day a week plan isn’t realistic with my schedule. Work is busy. Home is busy. 3 days a week is almost do-able. Almost. If I get an extra day I can add elliptical or yoga or spinning. If I can’t, I’ll do some crunches and whatever else I can manage and congratulate myself on training for something. I can easily change my 2 mid-week runs to include some hills (today was my 1st go and after 4 hill repeats my cardiovascular system was acting like I’ve never run before!) and some faster runs. I can do some cadence drills and try to include a Magic Mile every few weeks. Maybe I can even do 800 repeats on the high school track.
I will try to make a commitment to my 3 days. I will be willing to sometimes wake up super early to stay with my plan. But my plan is 3 days a week. I won’t make myself crazy looking at mileage that I won’t achieve while Minors live under my roof and my job description includes the word Surgeon. And I will embrace my speed (or lack thereof) as my accomplishment because it is an accomplishment.
And I’ll probably keep reading to learn more.

Now if only I could convince my husband that we need to spend February Break in Florida so I can run the Princess Half….

