Saturday is Race Day for me. I will run my 1st race at a distance shorter than a half marathon. The NYRR Mini 10K is supposed to be a special race. I believe it was the 1st distance race in this country specifically and exclusively for women. And this year is the 40th running of the race which makes it even more special.
The race starts in Central Park at West 61st Street. The course runs up Central Park West and then heads into the Park (that’s Central Park for my non-New Yorker audience) to make a clockwise loop. The finish is back on the West Side, apparently in the same spot as the finish for the NYC Marathon. It’s a hilly course, as is any race is Central Park. The course goes in the opposite direction as the More Magazine Half Marathon that I ran in January.
Weather report for Saturday isn’t ideal. The high temperature is predicted around 81F with a low in the Los to mid 60s. There’s a chance of rain which means it’ll probably be humid. Start time is 8am. I almost miss Disney’s super early starts, if just for the cooler temperatures.
I picked up my race packet yesterday (on national running day). I was a little surprised to find that my bib has a gray stripe instead of my usual brown. NYRR, like Disney, does seeded corrals. The
last corral is brown. For my last two NYRR races I was in the brown corral (I’ve run the More Magazine Half Marathon twice). I was quite surprised (and pleased) to see that I’ve moved into the second to last corral – gray.
How to approach this race? I’m not really sure. My training hasn’t been ideal. The snubs infection cost me two long runs. I took a break from hill repeats and speed work due to illness and injury. My longest recent run was only 6.32 miles. More than race distance but I would have liked a 7 mile run.
According to the McMillan Calculator (he’s a running coach who developed a way to translate pace at one distance to predicted pace at another distance), I should be able to run somewhere between 11:19-11:26 min/mile for a 10K. That’s based on my 2 best half marathon finishes. The 11:26 is based on my most recent race which was also in warmer weather. So 11:30 min/mile is within reach for this race.
I think my plan is as follows: Start the race with a 1:1 ratio (run 1 min/walk 1 min) at about a 12 min/mile pace. A the 5K mark I can choose to increase my ration to 2:1 and speed up, assuming things are going well. Or just hang on and finish at 12 min/mile pace if things aren’t great. Theoretically this should give me negative splits (running faster in the second half of the race) and save me some juice for a strong finish.
And, of course, the most important plan is to have fun!

