I was up bright and early this morning with a 5:45am alarm. My clothes were laid out and ready to go. From bib being attached to my shirt to the chip being on my sneaker. I was soon dressed and ready to go. I made a quick stop at the local bagel store for some pre-race fuel and coffee before driving into the city. I was a bit worried about finding parking so I left plenty of time. I soon realized that it was easier to just use a garage.
I found the port-a-potties and immediately waited in line. Once that was done I headed to the starting area. Since I was in the gray corral instead of the brown, I mistakenly assumed I was in the second to last corral. Apparently this race is small enough that the gray corral was the last one. So much for moving up in the world….
There were the typical pre-start speeches, especially since was the 40th anniversary of this race – the 1st women’s road race. There were several Elite runners including some Olympians taking part in this race. Nothing more humbling than hearing that several runners were expected to finish under 35 minutes!!!
The morning was fairly humid. Skies were overcast and I think I felt a few drops of rain. Starting temperatures were close to 70F. I was definitely dressed for warm weather but it never makes me happy.
We started about 3 minutes behind clock time. The start was on Central Park West and we had plenty of space to spread out so crowding was not a big problem. I started with my run 1 min/walk 1 min strategy. I started fast – by Garmin time my 1st mile was just sub-11 min/mile but slowed down after that. We entered Central Park between mile 1 and mile 2. The course was somewhat hilly but not as bad as I expected. The More Magazine Half Marathon goes around e park in the opposite direction and the hills are much worse!
My 5K split was 36:47. I kept the run 1/walk 1 ratio until mile 4. I was feeling pretty strong so I increased to a run 2 min/walk 1 min ratio. Mile 6 was at 11:10 pace. Around mile 6 my friend Julia showed up and ran with me to the finish. My last 0.2 miles were around 10 min/mile pace. My final time was 1:12:22 or 11:40 min/mile pace.
Based on my half marathon finish times, my predicted best was 11:19 – 11:26 min/mile. While this was slightly slower than that, I feel I did the best I could today. I’d missed a few training runs recently and the humidity was a factor. Overall I’m proud of my performance.

