After many weeks of considering, I decided last week to sign up for Jeff Galloway e-coaching. I feel like I’ve gotten to a point with my running where I’ve maximized what I can do on my own and I need some expert help. My local running group has free coaching but their philosophy differs from what I’ve found to work for me. Galloway has a running group in NYC but that isn’t really feasible for my lifestyle. I like the Galloway training philosophy and I thought the e-coaching would be the right choice.
I registered on the Galloway website and paid for 6 months of e-coaching. I pay myself $1 per mile so I had saved up the money for this. A few days afterwards I received an email requesting more details: my age, gender, best race times at various distances, target race, and any challenges. I included my race schedule leading up to the Goofy. Of course Goofy is my target race.
Sunday evening I received my personalized training plan. Galloway believes in 2 mid-week runs of 30-45 min and then a long run on Saturday.
The first thing I noticed was that my weekend mileage increases quickly. I’m scheduled to run 7 miles this weekend and I will quickly be in double-digit long run range. Starting in the fall I will have several weekends with a Saturday long walk followed by a Sunday long run. He did take into account my race schedule. My favorite touch is the day before my Tower of Terror 10 mile race I’m scheduled for “5 mile walk around Disney World.” Cute!
My mid-week runs have more structure. Tuesdays are cadence drills followed by 1/2 mile repeats. Thursday are acceleration-gliders (I need to figure them out still) with cadence drills and hills. Cadence drills work on rapid foot turnover. Acceleration-gliders help with downhills and taking advantage of momentum. Hills help with quad strength and, well, running hills.
I’m a little alarmed by my target paces. No it’s not too fast. Quite the opposite. He recommends my long runs at 15:30 min/mile pace. Probably based on my marathon finish time. And my 1/2 mile repeats should be at 13:00 min/mile pace. My current tempo runs are more like 11:30-12:00 min/mile pace and my long runs at 13:30 min/mile pace.
And he wants me to decrease my run/walk ratios. I tried various ratios today during my 1/2 mile repeats. My best of the suggested ratios was run 30 sec/walk 30 sec. I did a 1/2 mile at 10:58 min/mile pace!
I’m going to follow his advice, even if it seems slow to me. I’m paying for his expertise and I will be a believer. I’m supposed to email on Tuesdays and get feedback. I’ll keep y’all posted!

