We recently returned home from an incredible and – by American standards – somewhat lengthy vacation. On June 23rd we flew to Orlando where we spent the afternoon visiting World Showcase in Epcot and then slept at the Swan. Sunday we were picked up at 11am from the lobby of the Swan and transported via luxury bus to Port Canaveral where we boarded the Disney Dream. After 5 nights on this beautiful ship we arrived back in Port. We rented a car and drove to Fort Wilderness where a cabin in the woods was home for 3 days/2nights. While a trip of this magnitude leaves plenty of opportunity for comment, my purpose is to discuss my running.
I’ve previously found it very difficult to maintain my training while traveling with my family. Heat, illness, exhaustion, and lack of motivation have all played roles. And I guess a little piece of me has always felt, “Hey! It’s my vacation after all. I should relax.” But more and more running is a part of whom am I and I know that I need consistency to finish races strong and to maintain my general fitness and well-being.
So how did I do?
In short I did surprisingly well. And I’m quite proud of it!
I had hoped to get my weekend long run done before the weekend. But a sleepless night with Zachary followed by a brutally hot day prevented that idea. I entertained the idea of waking early enough on Saturday morning to run 7 miles before our 10:30am flight but soon realized that this was not a good idea – for my mental health anyway. Saturday was hot and busy but we got everyone to bed early enough that I set my phone alarm for 6am.
I woke up easily, dressed for my run, and took off. My new long run pace is actually slower than I seem able to run but I tried to keep my run slow. It was raining which helped keep the temperature down. I saw several other runners. The Swan is along the Boardwalk area outside of Epcot. I ran along the path to Disney’s Hollywood Studios and around the Boardwalk. It took several trips to get my mileage done. I even re-created that stretch from Hollywood Studios to Epcot during the late part of Disney’s Marathon!
So far, success! Longest run of the trip done. I felt strong with no aches and pains. And honestly none of the post-long run crash that I often feel. Amazingly only Zachary was awake and Tom had turned on a tv for him. Tom then went off to the gm for a work-out while I re-packed and got the kids dressed.
I had hoped to have my family participate in a 5k walk on Monday. We were docked at Disney’s private island – Castaway Cay – and a fellow group of cruisers had planned this walk. Unfortunately there was lots of standing around before we got started and my kids lost interest. Tuesday we were in Nassau and there were several passing storms. Not a big deal but enough to keep us on the ship. Tom worked out and then took the kids to Super Sloppy Science while I headed to the treadmill. 2.5 miles later I joined them to make Flubber. I learned that half mile repeats are not easily done on a treadmill!
Thursday I was able to participate in Disney’s official Castaway Cay 5k. They have bibs and rubber medals for all participants. It was at least 85F at race time with seemingly 100% humidity. It was great fun anyway even if my unofficial time of 37:25 is nothing to brag about. (There is no official time.)
My last run of the trip was on Sunday morning. Again I set my alarm for early and went for a lovely 3.05 mile run along the wooded paths. I was even greeted by 2 deer crossing my path as I ran. A great last day to vacation.
Overall I’m quite pleased with myself. Staying motivated to train when vacationing with the family isn’t easy but it can be done!

