As anyone who is forced to listen to me discuss my relatively new running “career” can tell you, I’ve gained about 10lbs since I started training for races (approximately in the past 2 years). During that time frame I’ve also turned 40. Whether it’s the continuous training (I seem to always have a next race on the schedule) or the magical milestone of age 40, I’ve struggled with efforts to lose this unwanted weight.
Let me start by saying “NO! This is not muscle gain!” I’m sure I’ve gained muscle but my pants are tight and I doubt I can attribute my waistline to muscle. And I’m not saying that I’m fat. I’m a small person (5’2″ tall) with a large-ish bone structure for my size. I weigh much more than I appear. When I started running I was comfortably a size 6 petite with some size 4s thrown in. Now I’m struggling with the Sixes and should probably buy some size 8 pants – if I weren’t so darn stubborn and determined to lose the weight.
I started reading the book Racing Weight and I do believe I could run faster if I lost these pesky 10lbs. I excused myself from following the book’s advice since I haven’t yet bought a body fat measuring scale. But I finally admitted that I needed to keep a better food journal.
Jeff Galloway recommends keeping a food journal as part of his ecoaching advice. I’m hoping that means I’m not the only Marathoner who used running as an excuse to eat anything! After “shopping” around for different Apps and Websites, I settled on myfitnesspal.com. The app is easy to use. It’s not perfect but I don’t think calorie counting needs to be an exact science. The point is that you alter your eating habits because you’re recording them.
I’m about 3 weeks in, I like the app. I thought I had lost about 1lb but I may have gained it back. I seem to weigh something different every morning. Which makes me crazy! I’m usually below the calorie count needed to lose 1/2 lb per week. I don’t want to go faster than that because I am training for a marathon, I think I need to give the program more time to see if it’s working before I give up hope.

