Most people who read this blog probably already know about my recent foot injury. Let me recap. 2 weekends ago I was scheduled for a mega-weekend. 10 mile walk on Saturday and 24 mile run/walk on Sunday. I did my 10 mile walk at 14:14 pace without any major issues. Woke up early on Sunday to start my run. My left foot had what I’ll call a twinge. It felt a bit sore but nothing that caused any major worry. I’ve found that every back to back weekend I start my 2nd day with a twinge. Sore quads. Sore gluts. Sore foot. No big deal.
I headed for the South-bound Bronx River Pathway. I’ve done most of my long runs on the North-bound trail and wanted a change in scenery. The North-bound trail starts about 1 mile from my house while the South-bound one starts about 2 miles away (the trail isn’t continuous; there’s a several mile gap). At about mile 3 my foot twinge changed into a foot pain. I thought maybe this was just a cramp and took a bit of an extended walk break. It felt a bit better while walking so I tried to run again. Ouch! Not good. I decided that I could just walk instead of run. Luckily for me I needed to be home by 8:30am so Tom could take a child to Hebrew School without the assistance of the other children. I actually texted Tom on my way home to tell him about the foot injury. Being an awesome husband, he offered to come pick me up. I was less than a mile from home so I just toughed it out.
My original plan was to run as many outdoor miles as time allowed and then finish on the dreadmill in my basement. I had managed 10 miles outside (3 with run/walk and 7 just walking) which left 14 long, slow miles indoors. As I prepared to go to the basement my husband gave me an incredulous look and said, “Tomorrow is another day. Stop.” At least someone is sensible about my running…
I started my online research. What causes pain on the outer edge of the foot halfway between the ankle and the little toe? The search results were not promising. A 5th metatarsal stress fracture was high on the list. I emailed my coach, Jeff Galloway, for advice. He wanted me to try to walk 30 minutes on Tues and Thursday and then reduce my mileage on Saturday from 6 miles down to 4 miles. He had a gentle run/walk plan in mind but I decided to play it safe and just walk.
One advantage of my profession is that I’m surrounded by doctors. And many Tuesdays I spend the time between OR cases in the Doctors’ Lounge with the Chairman of Orthopedic Surgery – a man I refer to as my “work dad.”. I wanted his opinion on my injury and perhaps help scheduling an X-ray. His approach was far more blunt and, probably, common sense. “Amanda, you have an overuse injury. It doesn’t matter if it’s a stress fracture or not. You need to stop using it and it will get better.” Well alrighty then..
He went on the recommend that I take 3 months off of running. But, of course, he knows me better than that. So he said to take another week off and give running a try. If I get pain again, I have my answer. He also spoke like a true Chairman, “Nobody is paying you to run Marathons. If you hurt your foot worse, you won’t be able to work.” When I told my husband this he responded, “He’s making an assumption that if you had to choose between working and running Marathons that you’d choose working.”
Yes. My husband knows me well….
I have been able to walk without pain. I’m not going to try running again until next week but I feel I could walk the Goofy if I had to do it that way.

