Today I was fortunate enough to have Everyday Girl nominate me for a Liebster Award. Although I’m so un-hip as to have been completely unaware of any blogging awards before today, apparently this is an award for new/small-time bloggers (like me) to help get more readers. Her blog is here: http://www.diaryofaneverydaygirl.blogspot.ca
I don’t really know what this all means but maybe it’ll get more people to read my blog and – more importantly to me – help people to start making healthier lifestyle choices. I know I’m supposed to nominate 10 additional blogs but I’ll hold off on that for now while I think about other blogs that are relevant. (I’ve had one of THOSE weeks and my brain is pretty dead).

As part of the Liebster I’m supposed to answer the following questions:

1) What is your favorite book or movie? I’m an avid reader so it’s hard to pick one book. Probably Lord of the Rings because I’m a nerd. Favorite movie is probably Singin’ in the Rain because I’m a sap.
2) Do your friends and family know you blog or are you anonymous? Before my mom died, she was one of my most involved readers of my blog. I link it to my Facebook page so I’m not anonymous but I also doubt that many of the people I work with know about my blog.
3) Where would you like to be in 5 years time? Right where I am. Seriously. I’d like a promotion at work to Associate Professor but I’d stay at my current job. I love my house but hope to start renovations in 5 years. I’m pretty happy with my life. I’d like to run a bit faster…
4) What is your favorite blog? I don’t have a favorite blog. Really. I don’t have enough time to keep up as much as I’d like. Probably I read the touringplans.com blog the most.
5) Name one thing you have always been good at? Remembering details. I’ve always had a scary good memory.
6) What do you do to relieve stress? Run, run, and run.
7) What is your favorite color? Depends on my mood. Blue or pink.
8) Do you have a bucket list? Yes and no. I believe in living like there’s no tomorrow and planning for the future. All at the same time. I have my vacation wish list and a list of races I’d like to do. Eventually. NYC Marathon, the new Dopey race at Disney, Disneyland Half (or Tinkerbell), Wine & Dine, etc.
9) If you could describe one word to describe yourself, what would it be? Stubborn. That’s both my best and worst quality.
10) Do you have a favorite quote, what is it? I have several but the one I use the most is the Serenity Prayer:
“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”
I honestly believe that we would all be happy if we took this advice every day. I can change I fast I run. It takes courage and dedication and sweat but I can do it. I can’t change the fact that I’m 5’2″ tall. I can lose weight and body fat to get closer to my ideal body composition but I’m never going to be a stick figure.

