This week I finally took the plunge.  While running the NYC Marathon has always been on my “bucket list,” it took on a new-found urgency for me after the Boston Marathon bombing.  Showing solidarity with the running community and showing that the BIG races WILL continue on, despite these cowardly terrorist, became a mission of mine.  Since many of the Boston Marathon runners get spots due to their willingness to raise money for charity, I thought that I should be willing to do the same.

I knew that NYC Marathon spots would be limited this year due to the cancellation of the 2012 race in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy so I wanted to secure my charity spot before the results of the lottery were announced (a common way to get a spot in NYC is through a lottery system and the registration ends this Friday).  I know that many people who don’t get spots through the lottery will default to a charity spot.  I felt strongly about signing up for a charity spot before the lottery and not because I didn’t get a lottery spot.

Another factor for me is that I’ve been in a bit of a running slump recently.  I attribute this to several factors.  First, the weather has just started to warm up.  After a very cold and long winter, we are experiencing heat and humidity for the first time in 2013 (the Disney races notwithstanding!).  My body is just not used to these conditions yet and I’m not adequately hydrating during my non-running time.  Second, with the change of seasons come various viruses.  I haven’t been overtly ill in the last 2 weeks but I’ve certainly felt unusually exhausted and run-down.  It’s not just that I have trouble getting myself out to run, it’s also that once I’m running I don’t get that good feeling (runner’s high?) that makes me want to keep going.  I know the solution is to let myself slow down and increase the walk breaks but it sure is discouraging.

Maybe I felt I needed the inspiration and motivation to keep up with my training. Or maybe I just wanted to get my charity spot before the lottery closed.  Whatever the reason, I registered with a charity – Team for Kids – to run the NYC Marathon on November 3rd, 2013.  I need to raise $2620 by October 3rd and I already paid my $100 registration fee to Team for Kids and soon I will pay my NYC Marathon registration fee to NYRR.

I picked Team for KIds because I see childhood obesity every day at work. Offering running programs for children in NYC (and Africa) can (and does) change lives.  These program are so critical at a time when there is less money for after school programs. Kids need to be active!

If you would consider donating to Team for Kids, here is the link to my fundraising page.  No amount is too small.  If everyone gives just $5, I will reach my fundraising goal! Here is the link:

http://www.runwithtfk.org/Profile/PublicPage/12515

