As we came off the Verrazano Bridge and entered Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, the first thing I noticed was the noise.  There were crowds of people in Brooklyn who came out to cheer for the runners.  After 2 miles on the bridge with no spectators at all, the cheering was a welcome sound. In addition to the crowds, there were several bands scattered throughout Brooklyn and it was fun to hear different kinds of music.  At this point I was right on pace, or even slightly faster than pace, and feeling really good.  The first water stop was around mile 3 and a good friend of mine from medical school was working the medical tent at mile 3.  Even though he was on the blue/green side of the street, I saw him across the divider and he came over for a much-appreciated hug!

Image

After passing the medical tent to see my friend, I quickly realized that the action was along the curb so I move over to the left.  Tons of high 5’s and cheers! Near the crowd is the place to be!!!

By mile 4 all three starting colors were running on 4th Avenue in Brooklyn.  The orange start (me!) was on the left side of the street (against traffic) while the blue/green starts were on the right side of the street (with traffic).  There was plenty of room to spread out so doing my intervals was not an issue at all.  I was worried about this because course crowding is a major issue at Disney but the streets here were much wider. 

Image

4th Avenue continues for miles….

Image

 

Image

 

Please note the LONG line for the portapotty.  At this point I was starting to have to go but didn’t want to waste that much time standing in line….

My instructions from Jeff Galloway were to increase my run/walk ratio after 6 miles.  Even though I was on my target pace, I wasn’t feeling great.  I was fine but not great.  So I decided to stick with my 30/30 and wait and see how things went.  Probably a good decision….

At Mile 8 the 3 starts merged together which didn’t cause any additional crowding or issues.  At this point we turned right off of 4th Avenue.  The crowd support continued to be good and I was still on pace for my 5:15 finish time.

Image

 

After passing the Mile 10 marker, the most noticeable change was the lack of crowds and the quiet.  Here is the Satmar Hasidic community of Williamsburg.  There were a few spectators who smiled and waved but definitely a quiet stretch.  It was somewhere in this area that I lost 4 minutes waiting in line for the portapotty.  When I entered the queue, I was about 3 minutes ahead of pace and when I finished, I was at least a minute or more behind.  

We then passed under the Williamsburg Bridge and re-entered an area with crowds cheering.  Many spectators were drinking outside of bars as they cheered.  As we turned left into Greenpoint, I noticed an almost-empty bottle of Jim Beam and asked the raucous owners if the bottle was for me.  They enthusiastically offered to give me some but I knew I had many miles ahead of me and gracefully declined. From here we were approaching the Pulaski Bridge which would bring us to borough number 3….

